Dr. William M. Scholl College of Podiatric Medicine History

Scholl College is the recognized leader in advancing podiatric medical education to meet the demands of the 21st century. As part of Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science (RFUMS), the College offers a fully accredited, four-year professional program leading to the Doctor of Podiatric Medicine (DPM) degree. Founded in 1912, Scholl College is a national resource whose graduates make up approximately one-third of all podiatric medical physicians practicing in the United States today. . The College merged with Rosalind Franklin University in August of 2001.

“The concept of enhancing podiatric medical education by positioning it into the mainstream medical environment is not new,” reports educational trade magazine, Podiatry Today. “But no endeavor has been as impressive as that championed by the people at Scholl College.”

With clinics located adjacent to the University’s campus, Scholl College is recognized for its exceptional clinical education. A well-rounded medical curriculum exposes students to emerging technologies and prepares them to serve in the multidisciplinary medical care delivery system. The College’s curriculum mirrors the allopathic medical school model with introduction to clinical sciences beginning in the second year. The College’s primary teaching affiliation is with the Cook County Bureau of Health Services. This puts Scholl students in multiple rotations, including ER, internal medicine and surgery, at the nationally renowned John H. Stroger, Jr., Hospital of Cook County and other leading Chicago teaching hospitals. The Scholl Clinics with associated faculty and personnel were relocated to the North Chicago campus in 2004. The Scholl Foot & Ankle Center is a major provider of foot and ankle care for the uninsured citizens of Lake County, Illinois. The University and the College have developed a working relationship with its community partners to provide care to those in need, a Scholl legacy since 1912. In addition, volunteers from the College’s faculty and student body participate in community service programs to provide free foot care to the uninsured and to the homeless through a local shelter program.

Trend setting is not new for Scholl College. Opened in 1912 as the Illinois College of Chiropody and Orthopedics, the college was renamed in 1981 to honor its founder, the late Dr. Scholl. Since its start, the College has been an important part of Chicago’s personality. Scholl alumni, historically leading the profession, have served in the presidency of the American Podiatric Medical Association more often than alumni of any other podiatric medical college. Today, the 380 plus Scholl students, ranging in age from 21 to the 40s, are usually from the majority of the states and represent many ethnic and all racial groups.  

The Dr. William M. Scholl College of Podiatric Medicine at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science is a member of the American Association of Colleges of Podiatric Medicine. The University is a member of the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges, the American Association for Higher Learning, the Association of Academic Health Centers, and the Illinois Federation of Independent Colleges and Universities.