College of Pharmacy

Archived Announcements

August, 2014— The College of Pharmacy welcomes its new Chair of the Pharmaceutical Sciences Department, Dr. John Buolamwini. Click here to read about his many contributions to the field of pharmacy.

July 22, 2014— P3 student William Alegria named a 2014-2015 Hispanic Scholarship Fund Scholar! Will received the award based on his impressive academic record, the influence of Hispanic heritage on his professional goals, and his involvement with the Hispanic community.  Click HERE to learn more about the Scholar Celebration where Chicago Mayor Rahm Emaunel and other community leaders honored Will and his fellow award recipients.

May— Alyssa Wenzel, Class of 2015 and recently named Paul Ambrose Scholar, was profiled in the RFUMS Helix publication. Click here to learn about all of the wonderful work Alyssa has done, and continues to do, while pursuing her PharmD at RFUMS.

May— Dr. Sarah Garber, Director of Interprofessional Studies and Assistant Dean for Assessment, delivers key note presentation at Marshall B. Ketchum University's all University retreat that focused on building a culture of interprofessionalism.

May 2, 2014 —  The 1st Annual College of Pharmacy Student Banquet is a huge success with $2350 raised for the American Heart Association in support of their Go Red for Women movement.

April 16, 2014— College of Pharmacy honored at the University Student Leadership Awards.

March 19, 2014– P3 Student Monal Punjabi and P2 student Amanda Outinen receive Best Scientific Talk and Best Student Research Poster awards at the RFUMS 9th Annual All School Research Consortium

March— The College of Pharmacy's Office of Experiential Education's hard work has been highlighted in the E*Value quarterly newsletter.  Click HERE to read more.

Sean Kane, PharmD, Assistant Professor, develops information resources for pharmacists and students.

November 2013— Amy McGlin, Class of 2016, receives an RFUMS Students Dedicated to Diabetes Research and Education Award for her summer research project entitled "Plasma Membrane Citrate Transporter."

October 2013— University of Wisconsin - Parkside and the College of Pharmacy enter an articulation agreement for pre-pharmacy students, joining the College’s five other affiliated school. Click here to see a list of all affiliated undergraduate colleges and universities that help pre-pharmacy students maximize their undergraduate preparation to make a smooth transition to Rosalind Franklin University.

September 2013— Abbie Lyden, PharmD, and her pharmacist-colleagues in the Northwestern Memorial Hospital Emergency Department, receive "Best Team Player" award from medical residents.

September 2013— College of Pharmacy student, Brandy Lockhart, is the new Executive Student Council President (2013-2014). 

 October 14, 2013— Associate Professor Dr. Jessica Cottreau received the 2013 New Educator Award from the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) in honor of her contributions to pharmacy education.

July 2013— Congratulations to our RFUMS  Illinois Council of Health-System Pharmacists (ICHP) student chapter for being one of seven schools of pharmacy to be awarded the 2013 ASHP Student Society Development Grant.

June 2013— Associate Dean for Research shares his expertise with in 'Real or fake sugar: Does it matter?'

June 2013— Dr. Kevin Rynn, Rita Huynh (P3) and Alyssa Wenzel (P3) spent the month of June volunteering in Ndejje Uganda outside the city of Kampala with our partners HOCW and the Zanta Clinic. 

May 2013— Student-Faculty Mentor Pair Awarded 2013 Walmart AACP Scholarship.

April 2013— P2 student Monal Punjabi to complete NIH internship program in biomedical research.

March 2013— Dr. Jamie Holmes, Assistant Professor,  helps to educate the community about drug misuse and abuse at the University screening of a hard-hitting documentary on drug abuse.

January 2013— Congratulations Patricia Arteaga (P2) and Jenny Rispens (P2), winners of the colleges first annual APhA-ASP Patient Counseling Competition. Jenny and Patrica will be representing our college at the state and national competitions

December 2012— Dr. Khyati Patel and Dr. Nick Weatherton, Assistant Professors of Pharmacy Practice, achieve board certification

September 30, 2012— RFU Students Participate in the American Lung Association’s Fight for Air Walk

September 28, 2012— White Coat Ceremony Fosters Sense of Community Amongst Student Body: a student perspective

September 28, 2012—2011-12 Past President of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists delivered keynote address at Class of 2016 White Coat Ceremony

September 26, 2012— College awarded Community Pharmacy Residency Expansion Project (PREP) Grant from NACDS in support of residency program expansion at NorthShore University HealthSystem

September 26, 2012— Congratulations to Dr. Lauren Angelo, who was recently appointed as Associate Editor for the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association (JAPhA)

August, 2012— Dr. Ateequr Rahman, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice, invited by National Association of Boards of Pharmacy to attend October item-writing workshop for Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Examination (FPGEE) and the Pharmacy Curriculum Outcomes Assessment (PCOA) exams

July 14-18 2012— COP faculty attend the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) Annual Meeting in Kissimmee Florida and present current happenings at the College.
June 26, 2012— The College of Pharmacy is pleased to announce that its Doctor of Pharmacy program was awarded Candidate status by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.
April 26, 2012— COP Advisory Board member Todd A. Karpinski, PharmD, MS named Fellow by the American Society of Health System Pharmacists

March 22, 2012— Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs Recognized with Teaching Award by Chicago Medical School Students

November 13, 2011— COP student awarded scholarship from the Korean American Pharmacists Association of Chicago
November 1, 2011— Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs receives award from the American Association of Poison Control Centers
October 16-22, 2011— The College celebrates National Hospital and Health- System Pharmacy Week. Click here for a student's perspective.
October 2011— The College Celebrates its first American Pharmacists Month
September 13, 2011— Dean Meredith delivers second annual State of the College address.
May 20, 2011— University Accreditation Extended by HLC to include Doctor of Pharmacy degree
March 22, 2011— College of Pharmacy Faculty Acknowledged by Students for Teaching Excellence (click here)
January 24, 2011— Press Release - College of Pharmacy is granted Precandidate Status
Life in Discovery
College of Pharmacy Home
Philanthropic Opportunities
Employment Opportunities