Skip to Main Content

Getting Involved


  • Most students involved in the ICC do so through volunteering to serve on a patient care team, called an Interprofessional (IP) team. The ICC operates weekly on Thursday evenings,during which IP teams are assigned an incoming patient. The student team takes a history and interviews the patient, and later reports to a team of providers to develop a plan of care. Students can volunteer as frequently or infrequently as their schedule permits, but no matter how often they volunteer each student gains valuable experience working in an interprofessional team and better understands the obstacles facing our most underserved and vulnerable populations.

Committees (Interprofessional Panel)

  • The student leadership that operates the clinic is organized into various committees, which is collectively called the Interprofessional Panel, to help coordinate the logistics of the ICC. Dozens of motivated and caring students from multiple health professional programs come together to advocate for patients and use student perspective to improve the educational clinical exposure the ICC provides to all RFU students. If you are a student interested in participating in the student leadership panel, please email

Executive Officer Board

  • Leading the student committees are members of the 14-person Executive Officer Board. This board of student leaders are the primary leaders for the ICC, and help coordinate efforts between Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science, RFU Health Clinics, the DeWitt C. Baldwin Institute and ICC students to ensure that the ICC stays true to its mission of service and interprofessional education. If you are interested in getting involved with ICC or have questions, email the Executive Officer Board at
Majed Abbas

Majed Abbas, M1

President, CMS 2021

Akshay Patel

Akshay Patel, M1

Vice-President, CMS 2021

Emilia Norlin

Emilia Norlin, M1

Executive Officer of Public Relations, CMS 2021

Alicia Edwards

Alicia Edwards, M1

Executive Officer of Finance, CMS 2021

Tamar Garcia

Tamar Garcia, M1

Executive Officer of Multicultural Affairs, CMS 2021

Alyssa Kessel

Alyssa Kessel, M1

Executive Officer of Clinical Operations, CMS 2021

Elaine Shultz

Elaine Shultz, Psych 2

Archivist & Head of Psychology Committee, CHP 2022

Lisa Loweth

Lisa Loweth, PA1

Co-Executive Officer of Research, CHP 2019

Zahra Abbas

Zahra Abbas, M1

Co-Executive Officer of Research, CMS 2021

Emil Joseph

Emil Joseph, M1

Executive Officer of Medical Informatics, CMS 2021

Janki Thakkar

Janki Thakkar, M1

Executive Officer of Interprofessional Panel, CMS 2021

Kyle Behrens

Kyle Behrens, M1

Executive Officer of Community Outreach, CMS 2021

Marall Abbaszadeh

Marall Abbaszadeh, P1

Executive Officer of Standards and Safety & Head of Podiatry Committee, SCPM 2021

Sarah Singer

Sarah Singer, Pharm 2

Executive Officer of Scheduling and Training, COP, 2019

Matthew Christensen

Matthew Christensen, M1

Executive Officer of Resource and Education Development, CMS 2021