Skip to Main Content

Julie L Schwertfeger, PT, PhD, DPT, MBA, CBIST

Assistant Professor

Dr. Schwertfeger earned her PhD in Interprofessional Healthcare Studies from in Spring 2020 and her DPT in Summer 2016 from Rosalind Franklin University, her BSPT from the University of Illinois at Chicago, an MBA with a concentration in Healthcare Administration from Keller Graduate School of Management in 2003, and a Certification as a Trainer for the Brain Injury Specialist Certification from the Academy of Brain Injury Specialists/ Brain Injury Association of America in 2015. She developed and led the educational neurologic clinics for the DPT program from 2015 through 2020, she teaches in and acts as department liaison to the interdisciplinary neuroscience and physiology courses and teaches lectures in the medical and pharmacy college curriculum.

Dr. Schwertfeger has extensive experience in long term acute care (LTAC), outpatient, inpatient rehabilitation facility (IRF), and home healthcare working with adults with neurologic and complex medical impairments. Her clinical practice focuses on adult neurologic and medically complex care using evidence-based practice (EBP) with a focus on stroke and acquired brain injury. Her research focuses on interprofessional, patient centered care to advance health policy and outcomes for adults with acquired brain injury.

She holds elected positions in the Association, and American Physical Therapy Association’s Academy of Neurologic Physical Therapy (ANPT) and the Academy of Physical Therapy Research (APTR). Her current service roles include ANPT Advocacy and Consumer Affairs Committee, APTR Federal Affairs Liaison, and she is the immediate past Chair of the ANPT Balance and Falls Special Interest Group (SIG). She is serving her third term as an At-Large Delegate for the Illinois Chapter to the APTA House of Delegates. Dr. Schwertfeger is the 2021 recipient of the Outstanding Service Award from the ANPT Balance and Falls Special Interest Group, the 2017 recipient of the Illinois Babette Sanders Leadership and Service Award, and the 2015 Federal Government Affairs Leadership Award.