Fellowships in Medical Subspecialties

Graduate Medical Education

Vidya Puthenveetil, MD
Residency Program Director 

Lolita Edwards 
Residency Program Coordinator
847.578.3227

FELLOWSHIPS

RFUMS/CMS sponsors fellowships in most of the medical subspecialties. The internal medicine residents interact with the subspecialty fellows in the care of mutual patients on a daily basis. These interactions constitute an important source of instruction for the residents and more importantly help the residents focus on their own options for future training in medicine. RFUMS/CMS fellowship include:

BENEFITS

Although residents are paid by the medical centers, the salaries are identical and the benefits are essentially the same for al residents within a given postgraduate year of training.

FELLOWSHIP DIRECTORS:

 Cardiovascular Disease
Sandeep Khosla, MD
sandeep.khosla@sinai.org
MSHMC
Laverne Benson
P: 773-257-6452
E: laverne.benson@sinai.org
 Interventional Cardiology  Sandeep Khosla, MD
sandeep.khosla@sinai.org
 MSHMC
Laverne Benson
P: 773-257-6452
E: laverne.benson@sinai.org
Pulmonary Disease Ashok Fulambarker, MD
ashok.fulambarker@va.gov
 JLFHCC
Leslie Larkin
P: 224-610-1512
E: leslie.larkin@va.gov
 Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism
Janice Gilden, MD
janice.gilden@rosalindfranklin.edu 
JLFHCC
Linda Smith
P: 224-610-7023
E: linda.smith@va.gov
 Infectious Disease Walid Khayr, MD
walid.khayr@va.gov 
JLFHCC
 
Life in Discovery
Fellowhip Program
Undergraduate Medical Education
Medical Grand Rounds
Major Affiliate Sites
3333 Green Bay Road, North Chicago, Il 60064-3095 • 847-578-3000